Thursday, October 18, 2007

Agar Agar, Agar Agar

Sometimes you gotta do it yourself-although this instant 'agar' dessert comes right out of the package. Boil it up and cool it down-in an hour you have a real Asian-style dessert. Contains no dairy products and is vegan as well. (Agar-agar comes from seaweed, and is a great vegetarian substitute for animal-based gelatins.) You can throw a can of fruit cocktail or some maraschino cherries on this for the retro '60's look, or use fruit chips, like I do, for more of a textural treat. By the way, the fruit chips include both taro and sweet potato. Use your imagination.